Will love stop you blogging?

 Now the kids are bigger is it right to blog about them?. For more ideas about thrifty, creative and eco-friendly ways to raise children see http://homemadekids.wordpress.com, or my book Homemade Kids,www.nicolabaird.com

Pic for a possible post: 101 things to do with long hair.

Pic for a possible post: 101 things to do with long hair.

My family has a terrible habit – we tell the world about the things we get up to using blogs and journalism. My husband Pete May even wrote a kiss and tell about how a Loaded journalist (aka him) ended up dating an eco-bunny (aka me) in his book There’s A Hippo In My Cistern (one man’s misadventures on the eco-frontline). Luckily I thought the book was funny. Actually I was flattered, it was like being a muse without having to eat like a model. But I also feel that if you choose to live with a writer, then you really have no right to edit their world view.

I’m not sure many people feel the same, especially children who are growing up being written about. The baby shares may be cute, even useful. We all need help dealing with nuclear nappies and toddler tantrums… but as my kids grow, it feels like it may be time to hold back some details of home life. For instance, see the pic of a stranger’s bearded child, left.

This is the blogging conundrum that I’d like to talk more about – discretion v inspiration – at the Mumsnet BlogFest on 9 November 2013, see here.

It’s all gone pear shaped
I’ve been writing three blogs for a while, and the one about the kids is getting harder to do. This one you are reading, http://homemadekids.wordpress.com was originally to support a book I wrote about practical childcare, Homemade Kids: thrifty, creative and eco-friendly childcare.

When Homemade Kids, the book, came out in 2010 my daughters were 9 and 12, and most of the content was drawn from interviews with families all over the UK. But the blog was different, and tended to focus on the smalls in my home, mostly because that’s where the inspiration came from, and where I could find pix.

Perhaps it's time to focus on action in the dog creche? (This one is at the Hampstead Heath farmers' market). Honest.

Perhaps it’s time to focus my blog habit on action in the dog creche? (This one is at the Hampstead Heath farmers’ market). Honest.

Now the kids are teenagers it often feels intrusive writing about their struggles, or boastful mentioning their triumphs – even the very small ones like being able to spit toothpaste across the bathroom and actually hit a target drawn in steam on the mirror… or put a banana skin into the right compost bin.

Worse the girls are now at an age when they can read what me or Pete, their dad, has written about them. So they can complain if they need to, they could even demand reparation. Or fight us: one is as tall as me already.

Kiss and tell isn’t quite over
Fortunately our dog isn’t going to be doing GCSEs in English so he’s the new target. And so he deserves to be, after managing to eat drugs at a dog-friendly music festival in the summer, and nearly die (see what Pete wrote here for the Guardian’s family pages).

Nicola Baird also writes a travel blog http://aroundbritainnoplane.blogspot.com about low carbon travel around the world – without leaving the UK. And has written 60 interviews over the past year with people who live or work in Islington, London see http://islingtonfacesblog.com

Explore posts in the same categories: parenting

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Will love stop you blogging?”


  1. Hey Nicola, hope you’re keeping well! This is a great post, and an issue that I’m sure many parents can relate to. This is the first generation of kids experiencing it really isn’t it, because our parents never had the the opportunity to share what we were up to with the world in the blink of an eye! I am now under strict instructions from both my children that I am not to share any photos, or anything they have done, on Facebook, or my blog, without checking with them first. Occasionally I slip up, particularly on Facebook, but mostly I respect their wishes because I think it’s a good lesson to teach them that you should respect others’ privacy, particularly when they have specifically requested it!

  2. Pete May Says:

    They do say write about what you know… though hopefully I only write about funny stuff rather than anything they’d find acutely embarrassing. And on the positive side they may look back at articles fondly one day… or even get their own back by writing about aged parents!


What do you think? Share here, thanks

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 894 other followers

