What do you buy?

Dress children in red and they are easier to see.

I’ve just spent a happy afternoon in the woods with Clare and her two sons – Conor is four and his little brother Finn, nearly two. Both families brought a picnic – we had hard boiled eggs and bagels, and my friends had soup in a thermos and sandwiches. This post is by Nicola Baird who is looking forward to her book Homemade Kids being published on 1 July 2010. 

While everyone played or made dens Clare gave me her tips for eBay buying and selling. She’s expert at it and as a consequence her boys look smartly togged up (see pic, left). She says the secret is to buy good quality brands (and we had a bit of a whisper about Gap and Boden). As a seller she reckons you should only offer clothes that are right for the season. Her tip is to wash and bag up your children’s outgrown winter clothes now, label them and then make a note to sell them in September or October. 

Missing tricks
I use eBay occasionally, but prefer looking through shops and table top sales/swaps which is probably why I rarely find those lovely Boden items I ringed in last year’s catalogue – Boden-buying mums seem to sell their good stuff so they can afford the next lot of new Boden/whatever’s it this year.  If you check regularly there are still covetable items in charity shops, in fact I’ve recently managed to get hold of two wet suits (both a fiver) so my girls can stay on the beach or in a boat for longer this summer, but in some ways eBay and selling on has reduced the amount of good quality clothing turning up in your local charity shop.

My hens are relaxed layers, but their eggs are great for picnic boxes.

This means I’ve become as likely to go in and buy, as to not buy. And kids don’t like it – especially if they’ve got used to being allowed something little every time they visit a carboot sale or charity shop. When things are as cheap as chips, and the money goes to a good cause then it’s hard to say no

As my friend Lucy found out it can be very hard to reason with a child who is used to being allowed something because it is secondhand.  “We went to a book shop and natalie, 6, had an almighty tantrum cos she wanted a toy – which saw her screaming all the way out of the shop and to the bus stop, I think she calmed down by the time we got home.  I blame lack of exposure to commercial shopping opportunities – you see going to charity shops means that they usually can get something each time – not so with real shops – what to do!!” If you’ve got any ideas wing them over in the comment box below…

Grown ups are just as bad as I’ve started to realise while reading the fascinating story of how to eat well and live on absolutely no money, Free: living on the margins of a wasteful society, by Katharine Hibbert who spent last year squatting and skip diving. 

Like most city people I live very near shops that must chuck out-of-date food regularly. I’ve never noticed bags of food lying around before, perhaps because bins are often around the back, or in a locked section, or taped up, but since learning the lessons of Free I think I’m willing to pick up more found food. The trouble is I’m nervous about it – we found a Sainsbury’s chicken sandwich on the bus last week (risk?), and the dog could certainly thrive on football fan offerings – but I think my girls would find it a very worrying development.

Until I gain confidence (or move into crisis mode) I think I may just stick with looking for tasty wild foods (the new season nettles are ready for cutting!) rather than pre-packaged, barcoded but dumped items…

Explore posts in the same categories: thrifty

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “What do you buy?”


  1. The blog is really nice one and very informative for us. we appreciate the kind of information you have provided in this post. The information are so useful for all of us and we would like to thank you from the bottom of our heart for this wonderful information.The things you have discussed about in this post which are supposed to be very helpful for us. Because of these wonderful information in this post the blog can be viewed again and again.

  2. Georgie Says:

    I love your blog, sent to me by my beloved friend Jo, mother of Billy. And very excited to go and get nettles from the field to eat too – what’s best way to eat do you think? As soup or steamed? Really want to read the book you are talking about too – I am often tempted to feed my children from left overs in cafes and not buy them anything new! isnt that awful – when Jemima walks past a plate of chips or half a pudding – both things she might be unlikely to get bought for her – she looks at me slightly embarrassed and I always think, go ahead! but of course we never do and it goes and gets thrown away instead. I just blogged a long spiel about yoga with kids and other lovely ways to help our children feel happy and spiritual in case you are interested. I will come back for inspiration for being green with kids! Thanks again!

    • homemadekids Says:

      Hi Georgie, perhaps we will have to have an eat up other people’s leftovers days to draw attention to all this. My girls feel like your Jemima, that is the way to get chips and pudding. As for nettles. Now is the time: I prefer to beat 3 or 4 eggs to makie an omelette. Then chop up the nettle tops and put them into the pan and pour the egg mix on top. The green and yellow look so tasty. I have made nettle soup but didn’t enjoy it as much as the nettle omelette. Treat nettles like spinach so go easy on the water, bulk up with potatoes and posh up (if wanted) with cream. Enjoy! Nicola


What do you think? Share here, thanks

