Win a weeney prize

Win a prize by sharing your views on washing babies and little kids' hair.

This blog post is by Nicola Baird sharing ideas about thrifty, creative and eco-friendly ways to raise children. This post is about what you think about washing little children’s hair – yes or no?  For more info about parenting see my book Homemade Kids, or for my website click here.

Weleda is a fascinating company – providing organic lotions and potions with an ethical story. Would you like to win a PRIZE – a tiny tester tube of Calendula shampoo and body wash? It’s the ideal size for a mini-break (and the school holidays are coming up again…). I’ll post the prize to you  (here’s hoping you live in the UK) if you can share your thoughts about washing children’s hair on the comment form below (don’t forget to make sure I can contact you via email or your blog).

Tonight’s the night
So, do you do it, or not? I figure as babies and little children (under 10s?) don’t sweat there is no reason  – unless they have rubbed food (or worse!) into their hair or have head lice. And if it is head lice you are going to have to brace yourself for days of combing with a fine-toothed comb through a cloud of lather in a bid to interrupt these pesky insects’ life cycle.

I remember hating hair washing when I was little – there were always tears when soap went into my eyes – and I noticed my first baby hated it too, so I just gave up. The result has been fascinating. A lot less time spent soaping and rinsing, perfectly clean hair (more often than not on a protesting child), plus less need for chemical mix nasties in the bathroom.

Over to you
Write a comment so you have a chance to win the little prize – it’s a Weleda potion suitable for babes, so sure to be even more lovely for grown up skin. Deadline 1 March 2012 (end of day).

Explore posts in the same categories: parenting

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Win a weeney prize”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I see no point in washing tinies’ hair – water inevitably gets swished over their heads if they have a bath. Mine used to swim around in the bath anyway and their heads always seemed very clean with no effort on my part. Actual washing isn’t really necessary til they are well into primary school.


  2. From the time both of mine were tiny babies I used to regularly take them into the shower with me and hold them while letting the shower water wash over their heads, this got them used to having water over their face (obviously you have to be careful that they can still breathe properly by not to have too much water streaming over their face!). They used to love it. I’m sure that’s the reason I never had any problems with either of them not wanting their hair washed as they got older. But in terms of shampoo, when they were babies I used to buy a very mild natural organic bar soap and just use a little bit of that to wash their hair when needed to avoid any of the nasty detergents or chemicals in shampoos.

  3. Jo Finburgh Says:

    My sister has not washed her son’s hair for two and half years – just water. And he’s clean as a whistle. Actually my partner and I have not washed ours with any kind of detergent for over 5 years… We scrub our heads hard every day with hot water instead. They both smell fine! I don’t intend on washing my baby’s hair for a very very long time when it arrives.

  4. nicola baird Says:

    Chris: “Friday Night’s Amami Night…Amami shampoo came in a green bottle, and it was a rather slimey product. My Grannie Mollie and I had endless fun chanting, ‘Friday night’s Amami night…” http://www.bbc.co.uk/ww2peopleswar/stories/16/a4239416.shtml From the above BBC link: “…..Baths were normally only taken once a week, and hair was shampooed at the same time, hence the advertising slogan “Friday night’s Amami night”. There were no bath bubbles, and I don’t recall anyone using a deodorant, the only thing I remember was soap — I wonder if the world was a smelly place, it certainly didn’t appear to be; perhaps with cooler surroundings, and plenty of washing, it wasn’t so bad!…”

    Nicola Baird That is a completely fascinating story/clip @Chris. Thank you. The way we live has changed so amazingly. I’m going to share this with my kids later on. Thank you. Nicola

    Tim “I wash my dogs hair to get bits, grime and smell out – so kids? No different!”

  5. nicola baird Says:

    Comment put up on the poll page:
    Siana Marchant – 1 week ago
    Hi,
    I always treated my kids with a gentle hand, so I am perplexed as to why they hate having me wash their hair. My kids are now 8 and 9 and still there is still very little change in how they feel about the dreaded shampoo! I’ve tried everything from soft washcloths covering their faces, letting them do it themselves, showers, baths….nothing seems to make a difference, there is almost always tears and hostility!
    My solution was to just stop using shampoo. Well, almost stop, I do still wash their hair sometimes, about once every two months. My son’s hair looks and smells just fine, he never seems to need a wash. My daughters hair does get greasy but she doesn’t mind, it doesn’t look that bad really, and I don’t think that little kids need to look especially groomed anyhow!


  6. […] for everyone else’s comments. You can see the full post here. https://homemadekids.wordpress.com/2012/02/23/win-a-weeney-prize/ Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponDiggEmailPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  7. nicola baird Says:

    OH NO – can’t find my prize winner Siana Marchant. So have done a draw from the other entrants comments and the winner is Sarah Finch. She said: “I see no point in washing tinies’ hair – water inevitably gets swished over their heads if they have a bath. Mine used to swim around in the bath anyway and their heads always seemed very clean with no effort on my part. Actual washing isn’t really necessary til they are well into primary school.” Let me know your address Sarah and then I can send you the prize! Thanks and well done. Nicola


What do you think? Share here, thanks

