What makes you laugh?

We enjoyed this Lake District farmer’s irritation with tourists.

This blog post is by Nicola Baird sharing ideas about thrifty, creative and eco-friendly ways to raise children. This post is about belly laughs. For more info about my book Homemade Kids, with lots of ideas about parenting click here.

This week I’ve laughed a lot because:

  • A seven-year-old who does an after school club with me gave me the choice of being a) a vegetarian dog or b) a woolly mammoth. Mostly my life choices relate to price and colour. I went for the dog option. I think she felt I hadn’t been listening…
  • While discussing the problems head teachers can face – eg, accusations of financial irregularities – over dinner one evening, my big daughter, 14, gave a detailed description of what she will be wearing (a bizarre fairy costume with bodice and nipped in bat-wing sleeves) should she ever be marched off any premises accused of “financial irregularities”. Best to be prepared!
  • My 11-year-old tripped over the dog (yes, poor dog), but slapstick always makes me giggle.

Kids: ever so scary? Possibly this sign in Newcastle upon Tyne was warning drivers not to run tots over…

Without kids around what would I have laughed at?

Over to you
With or without kids what’s been enjoyable this week?

Explore posts in the same categories: parenting

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “What makes you laugh?”


  1. Kids are always a good source of entertainment aren’t they! As you know from my blog, we went to Corfu at the end of August. Last week I was telling someone about the trip and I said that even though there were a lot of restaurants serving British food, we avoided that; we ate Greek food there, not British food. My daughter (13) piped up “Well apart from on the last day when we had a kebab!”.


What do you think? Share here, thanks

