Are you doing spiders for Halloween?

This blog post is by Nicola Baird sharing ideas about thrifty, creative and eco-friendly ways to raise children. This post has a close look at the spider in the party bag. For more info about my book Homemade Kids, with lots of ideas about parenting click here.

Gorgeous home made spider for a party bag.

For about six weeks before Halloween there’s a lot of earnest discussions at home about what to wear at Halloween, and where to trick or treat.

When Nell, 11, and her friend Anna, also 11, came back from a younger friend’s trampoline party with this gorgeous spider as a party bag gift I thought it would be parked to gather dust, but it seemed to inspire them to make up all sorts of spidery games, and gave both girls an idea for Halloween.

Make a party bag spider
Now I didn’t make this spider (and it is definitely creative rather than eco-friendly), but my guess is that if you want to make your own eight-legged friend, then you go to a pound shop and find a ready made spider (see pic) or a light-up ball. If you end up with a ball, then glue on four halved pipe cleaners on either side (to make eight legs); add a dollop of glue for felt eyes and a nose/mouth and then your spider is good to go. 

Play with your light-up spider
Anna and Nell took their spiders on the bus and to a large heath. There they climbed loads of trees and generally gave the spiders plenty of “exercise”.

Enlarge your spider family
Games Nell recommends – you can draw a family of spiders. This is fun (and reasonably easy). “We made the Glasswats spider family. Use different colours, different faces, different sizes and different features so you can identify the spiders. We kind of based it on Sylvanians, but we didn’t make any twins. I just made five babies.”

Use your spider at Halloween
“Say if I was a Mummy I could stick my spider to the bandages, and then it would look like I was really old and decaying,” says Nell. “If I were a ghost this would work as well…” I just hope she means an Egyptian Mummy.

Read more of my posts on party bags here.

Over to you
What’s a quick way to make a Halloween outfit that your kids want to wear this year?

Explore posts in the same categories: parenting

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Are you doing spiders for Halloween?”

  1. Penny Says:

    It’s a nice thought that he may have made these spiders, but they came from the £1 shop ready made…

    • nicola baird Says:

      Hi Penny, yes I’m so sorry. Quite a few false assumptions on my part here. I assumed they were homemade! Netta told me yesterday they weren’t. I’m going to make a few tweaks to this post when I have time later today… N x


  2. […] See more ideas for Halloween (with an emphasis on spider accessories) from this blog here. […]


What do you think? Share here, thanks

