Midsummer reminder: reuse, repair, recycle, refuse

Are you consistent most of the time? So when you buck your home rule book how do you explain it to your children? For more ideas about thrifty, creative and eco-friendly ways to raise children follow this blog or get my book Homemade Kids, out of the library. This post is by Nicola Baird, also see www.nicolabaird.com

This huge TV was bought by my husband for World Cup 1998. It's not broken - but it doesn't earn the space it takes up, so here it is on it's way to a secondhand shop that takes electrical goods.

Bag lady with warrior trolley: This huge TV was bought by my husband for World Cup 1998. It’s not broken – but it takes up so much space, so here it is on it’s way to a secondhand shop that takes electrical goods.

Last week I realised what a hypocrite I can be. Basically I don’t use supermarkets to shop . The idea is to support local shops and alternative ways of food shopping (eg, buying a regular organic vegetable bag) instead. However on Monday this week I realised I’d been into different branches of Waitrose twice in one day – hunting out their fair trade coffee bargains and some less right-on products…

The previous week I was dragging our perfectly functioning, but way too large, TV down to a charity shop. It would have gone sooner if it had been a bit easier to transport (we don’t have a car, but I managed this journey thanks to the aid of a piano teacher’s vehicle). Clearly I don’t always understand the concept of “perfectly functioning”?

In my defence during the same 7-day period I’ve mended the kitchen curtains, taken some boots to the repair shop and used up most of the food stored at the very back of the cupboard… I’m still reducing, reusing, repairing, recycling, refusing etc, but interspersed with consumerism. Like most busy parents I guess.

Inconsistency is frowned on when you’re trying to bring up children. I’ve lost count of the times I’ve been told to have firm boundaries. And yet most of us adults are a bag of inconsistency. We tell half truths (no there aren’t any biscuits in the house say, or yes it is time for bed…) – then get upset if we catch our kids lying.

Juggling practical solutions with quick wins on a budget is a good life lesson for kids to watch, even if Pepa Pig or YouTube is rather more fun. Besides if you were perfect what would your child be able to say to their therapist? Now I’m just out to check the discount shelves at the nearest supermarket… anyone want to babysit?

Over to you
Have you ever caught yourself saying one thing and doing another? Do share…

 

Explore posts in the same categories: parenting

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Midsummer reminder: reuse, repair, recycle, refuse”

  1. Pete May Says:

    That TV is big enough to live in! I will miss it….


What do you think? Share here, thanks

